AWS, AWS Certification

3 Mins Read

All You Need to Know About- AWS Certified Security Specialty (SCS-C02) Certification Examination


AWS certifications validate the learner’s knowledge with industry-recognized standards and help organizations identify skilled professionals on the AWS cloud. As many enterprises adopting the AWS cloud, they are looking for security professionals to secure their environment on the AWS cloud. AWS Certified Security-Specialty can open the door to professionals interested in the security domain.

Aim of the AWS Certified Security Specialty (SCS-C02) Certification

AWS Certified Security-Specialty certification validates your expertise in creating and implementing security solutions in the AWS cloud. This certification covers security domains like threat detection and incident response, data and infrastructure security, logging and monitoring, and identity and account management.

This certification aims to validate the knowledge of a learner in different areas of security:

  • Understand and implement identity management in AWS accounts.
  • Understand and implement a multi-account environment for security and governance.
  • Understand data encryption techniques and mechanisms to protect sensitive data.
  • Understand data classification techniques and data protection mechanisms.
  • Understand and implement infrastructure security.
  • Understand the importance of monitoring and logging to improvise security posture in the AWS cloud.
  • To make a trade-off decision concerning security, cost, and deployment complexity to satisfy application requirements.
  • Understand security operations and risks.
  • Understand the importance of AWS security services and their features to secure AWS environments.

  • Cloud Migration
  • Devops
  • AIML & IoT
Know More

Domain-wise contents

This certification exam mainly focuses on the six major domains in security, Threat Detection and Incident Response, Security Logging and Monitoring, Data Protection, Infrastructure Security, Identity and Access Management, and Management and Security Governance. The domain-wise weightage is given in below table:

Domain % of weightage
Threat Detection and Incident Response 14%
Security Logging and Monitoring 18%
Infrastructure Security 20%
Identity and Access Management 16%
Data Protection 18%
Management and Security Governance 14%
Total 100%



Domain 1: Threat Detection and Incident Response

This domain mainly focuses on designing and implementing an incident response plan, detecting security threats and anomalies using AWS services, and responding to compromised resources and workloads. This domain tests knowledge about deploying security services like AWS GuardDuty, Security Hub, and Macie, analyzing their findings, identifying the incidents, and automatic remediation using different AWS services like AWS CloudWatch.

Domain 2: Security Logging and Monitoring

This domain focuses on designing, implementing, troubleshooting, logging, monitoring, and alerting security events using different AWS services. This domain validates expertise to identify logging services like VPC Flow Logs, S3 Access Logs, and AWS CloudWatch Logs and find insights to improvise the security posture. It also checks for monitoring and alerting services like AWS CloudWatch, AWS Event Bridge, and Security Hub.

Domain 3: Infrastructure Security

This domain aims to design and implement security controls for networking, edge services and compute workloads using various AWS services. It includes AWS VPC, network firewall, security groups, NCL, Route 53, Amazon CloudFront, AWS WAF, and AWS Shield. It also covers vulnerability assessment services like Amazon Inspector.

Domain 4: Identity and Access Management

This domain aims to design, implement and troubleshoot authentication and authorization for AWS resources using AWS IAM, AWS IAM Identity Center, Directory service, and AWS Cognito. The objective of this domain is to understand the different identities and permissions to access AWS resources

Domain 5: Data Protection

This domain mainly focuses on data encryption at rest and in transit to maintain the confidentiality and integrity of the data. It also covers the mechanism to protect secrets, credentials, and cryptographic keys using different AWS services like AWS KMS, Secrets Manager, Certificate Manager, and S3 Lifecycle configuration.

Domain 6: Management and Security Governance

This domain aims to develop a strategy to centrally deploy, manage AWS accounts, and ensure the security and governance of AWS resources using AWS Organization, AWS Control Tower, and AWS Config. It also focuses on cost analysis and architectural review using AWS Trusted Advisor.

Intended Learner

Anyone can give the AWS Certified Security-Specialty certification exam. This exam is aimed at working professionals with experience in designing and implementing IT security solutions and knowledge of the AWS cloud. This certification complements the skills and knowledge required for multiple job roles like cloud security engineer, architect, cloud security specialist, and consultant.

Exam Details

The AWS Certified Security-Specialty (SCS-C02) exam is available on July 11, 2023. This exam includes multiple choice and multiple response type questions. In 170 minutes, we need to attempt 65 questions. The exam fee is 300$ plus taxes. The passing score is 750 out of 1000. The exam is not offered in the German language.

Get your new hires billable within 1-60 days. Experience our Capability Development Framework today.

  • Cloud Training
  • Customized Training
  • Experiential Learning
Read More

About CloudThat

CloudThat, incepted in 2012, is the first Indian organization to offer Cloud training and consultancy for mid-market and enterprise clients. Our business aims to provide global services on Cloud Engineering, Training, and Expert Line. Our expertise in all major cloud platforms, including Microsoft Azure, Amazon Web Services (AWS), VMware, and Google Cloud Platform (GCP), positions us as pioneers.

Are you eager to learn AWS Cloud and earn certifications? You can validate your skills in these most sought-after Cloud Technologies by exploring a wide array of AWS certification training offered by us.




    Click to Comment

Get The Most Out Of Us

Our support doesn't end here. We have monthly newsletters, study guides, practice questions, and more to assist you in upgrading your cloud career. Subscribe to get them all!